Books to Read Again and Again

IMG_0673

This short list of books I have compiled was difficult to come up with. Going through my book shelf, I ended up with at least 15 books I absolutely love. After some time and struggling, I finally ended up with 5 books that I have read over and over again and of which I never grow tired.           

1.) An Old Fashioned Girl by Louisa May Alcott
Published in 1897, the novel, An Old Fashioned Girl follows Polly Milton as she visits her friend in the city, Fanny. This timeless novel tells about Polly’s struggle adjusting to trends and styles she doesn’t agree with. The messages in this novel ring true to our world today, and I highly recommend it regardless of your age.

2.) Gone Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright
I first read this novel at a young age, and the delightful, innocent adventure inside never gets old. As Portia Blake hops on a train to go spend the summer with her cousin unexpected things occur.  They stumble upon an old abandoned town which they soon discover isn’t completely abandoned.  Portia and Julian strike up a friendship with the only residents left who remember the town in its prime.  Exploration and discovery follow, and this book is perfect if you, like me, enjoy a great adventure.

3.) Summer at Forsaken Lake by Michael D. Beil
I stumbled upon this book at a used bookstore, and when I pulled it off the shelf, I had no idea what I was in for. I finished this story the same day I purchased it — I couldn’t put it down.  A young boy spends a summer in his father’s childhood summer home, and along with learning how to sail and building a boat, he discovers more about his dad and uncovers a mystery. Summer at Forsaken Lake is a perfect combination of adventure and mystery, and extremely well written.  I’m still waiting for the sequel!

4.) Land of Stories by Chris Colfer
This book is absolutely amazing. It sat on my bookshelf for some time before I finally picked it up. It is incredibly enjoyable and suspenseful, as two children fall into a land that is a combination of all the fairytales from your childhood. Each individual story and land combines to create a whole new kingdom. The story twists and turns as the siblings adventure in an attempt to return home to their family.

5.)The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
A story of a young girl with a scientific mind and a love for nature.  Calpurnia bonds with her introverted and odd (in others’ eyes) grandfather. They explore and experiment together and make a huge discovery, all while Calpurnia struggles with her mother’s ideas of how she should behave. This book beautifully portrays the love between a girl and her grandfather.  When you finish the book, don’t worry! There is a book two: The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate.

3 thoughts on “Books to Read Again and Again

Leave a Reply

